Author Topic: Kayak Fishing for Crappie  (Read 5620 times)

Offline Elefantdude

• I finally caught a nice Slab for my profile pic!
Kayak Fishing for Crappie
« on: January 15, 2012, 03:01 AM »
Hi All!
I plan on going to Alamo Lake for the very first time in early February (2012)  to fish from my kayak for some crappie.  I do not have too much experience with crappie, but I do have extensive experience kayak fishing for bass @ Lake Pleasant, Saguaro Lake, Lake Powell and even Tempe Town Lake  :D. I also have lots of experience fishing for trout on the Mogollon Rim lakes and White Mountain lakes. Plus I have caught a few nice pike up in the Flagstaff lakes as well - all from a kayak. 
Since I am new to fishing crappie from a kayak, I am sure it is fairly similar to fishing from any other type of boat. I have been reading other posts on trolling speed, jigging, depth, lures, etc. I am not much of a bait fisherman. I mostly use artificial lures. I have read that crappie start spawning during the first few months of the year, is that correct? Do crappie go shallow, like largemouth? I have also read that once you catch one crappie, you should fish that same spot, because crappie stay in schools. I have caught a few crappie at Lake Pleasant and Upper Lake Mary, but i was going after different species of fish at those times. I must say, they are some GREAT tasting fish!  :)

I would appreciate any pointers for crappie fishing in general as well as fishing Alamo Lake, since it will be my first time there.  :)  I am hoping to have crappie for my dinner out at Alamo Lake!

Thanks!
EE
Cheers!!!
Ed Elefante
Tight Lines ............ <'))))»•{

Piscolli

Re: Kayak Fishing for Crappie
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2012, 12:24 PM »